The Rantings of a Tortured Mind

Valerie Rayne Rants

Totally Unprepared

1 Comment


So, even though I stayed up late to make the kids’ lunches last night and made them one heck of an amazing lunch and even though I was up on time this morning and even though we got to the school early, I still went in to the first day of school feeling absolutely and completely unprepared.

Firstly, we get to the school and you have to go to the gym to find out which class your kids are in. So, we find out the teachers name and now there’s no way for us to know where these teachers are! Luckily, we found a lady who was able to direct us where we needed to go. But then we get there and they don’t bother to tell you how they want their school supplies prior to going to school, so you’re rushing around trying to get everything in a bag and labeled because you just weren’t sure the night before.

It just ended up being a huge stressful gong show that I wish could’ve been avoided. If my kids had went to that school last year, it probably would’ve been a relatively smooth morning, but I left feeling defeated and completely unprepared. I hate that! We got through it though and now Kenzie and Kaeidyn are in their classrooms with their new teachers and Keirnan goes back this afternoon!

It’s definitely a long walk to get to the school and I can’t believe that I’m going to be doing it three times a day. If I don’t lose some of this 45 pounds during this school year, I am going to be some kind of angry. All I kept saying during our walk this morning was that we need a vehicle and it seems to be pointed out to me much more lately. Once money straightens out, I am going to get my license period!

I had my learner’s back when I was 16, just never went for my road test to graduate into the next level of the program, so my license expired and I haven’t gone back and gotten one. I psyche myself out for it too much and start freaking out that I’m going to fail. I didn’t fail my first one, I actually passed and got a pretty high score and I generally pride myself on being a knowledgeable and good driver, but that was almost 10 years ago! Holy crap… I am so old!!!

And don’t even get me started on how old I am. My hair is quickly turning gray and brittle, which is causing me more stress than I ever thought it would. If my hair wasn’t so long and unhealthy already, I probably wouldn’t mind. But I feel like it just makes me look SO much older. I’m turning 26 this year (which reminds me, I need to get working on my birthday post for this year!) and I swear I look like I’m 40 and if I don’t actually look it, I definitely feel it!!

I always thought I’d enjoy getting older, right up until I had to start wearing diapers, but it is just not working out that way…

Author: Valerie Rayne

Valerie Rayne is a wannabe kinkster, blog-a-holic and mom of five ranting about life, love and blogging. She is also the founder of The Erotic Writers Group, a community for #EroticWriters and #EroticReaders to connect, share, learn and inspire.

One thought on “Totally Unprepared

  1. I totally sympathize with you; I’ve got a degree in elementary education & I still hate the first day of school craziness….I’m going to turn 38 in December, and my oldest (18) child’s due date is 6 days after my birthday…I still feel young, actually like my life is just beginning…..

Leave Your Thoughts...

