The Rantings of a Tortured Mind

Valerie Rayne Rants

My Punk Rock Playlist

3 Comments


Tonight, I’m travelling back to the year 2000-ish and rocking out with my cock out to some good ole fashioned punk rock. It started with a desire to listen to Against Me! after discovering a new band called fun. This has led me on a journey through Rancid, Anti-Flag, The Distillers, Lars Frederiksen and the Bastards, Choking Victim, Less Than Jake, and tons more!

I used to be so into punk music that I even had my own little zine called “It’s a Punk Rock Life” (I can’t believe this is still on the web! I warn you, it’s not very good ;). My phase lasted for about 4 years, where the only music I believed was good music was punk music. I had a mohawk, which I begged my mother for for months on end, I went to punk shows and skanked in the pit, and I even argued with The Distillers when it was rumored that they would be joining Warner Bros. Records via their forums…

So, here’s 20 of my favorite punk rock songs:

  1. Ruby Soho
    by Rancid
  2. Sound System
    by Operation Ivy
  3. Die for your Government
    by Anti-Flag
  4. Those Anarcho Punx Are Mysterious
    by Against Me!
  5. Look What Happened
    by Less Than Jake
  6. Crack Rock Steady
    by Choking Victim
  7. Gyspy Rose Lee
    by the Distillers
  8. Hollywood Babylon
    by the Misfits
  9. Exploited Barmy Army
    by The Exploited
  10. Big A, Little a
    by Crass
  11. Kill the Poor
    by Dead Kennedys
  12. I Fell Asleep on My Arm
    by The Aquabats
  13. Whoops, I Od’d
    by NOFX
  14. New Noise
    by Refused
  15. Fuck Authority
    by Pennywise
  16. Raise Your Voice!
    by Bad Religion
  17. Swing Life Away
    by Rise Against
  18. At least I’m not as sad as I used to be
    by fun.
  19. To Have or To Have Not
    by Lars Frederiksen and the Bastards
  20. This Town
    by Deviates

So there you have it, there’s some of what I’m listening to tonight. What are your favorite punk rock bands? What do you think was the best time period for punk rock? Have you ever seen the movie SLC Punk? If not, you should!

Author: Valerie Rayne

Valerie Rayne is a wannabe kinkster, blog-a-holic and mom of five ranting about life, love and blogging. She is also the founder of The Erotic Writers Group, a community for #EroticWriters and #EroticReaders to connect, share, learn and inspire.

3 thoughts on “My Punk Rock Playlist

  1. Pingback: Anti Cimex | Love Music Tunes

  2. Pingback: Onlywatchthebandwithaguy(orgirl)thatIknowinit-itis | World (and Lunar) Domination

Leave Your Thoughts...

