The Rantings of a Tortured Mind

Valerie Rayne Rants

This Was… My Week…

Leave a comment


I keep coming on here to write, and then I open up the new post window and just sit there staring at the screen. It’s become very annoying, so I’ve decided, I’m just going to write and see where this ends up…

Work this week was pretty rough. It’s month-end, so that automatically means it’s going to be rougher than usual, because it feels like you’re rushing around like a chicken with your head cut off to make sure you get all your work done by the deadline. But it’s also rougher because my boss doesn’t take the pressure of the whole month-end very well. It also seems to be the part of the month that he understands the least about, because I seem to have to explain every move I make.

It didn’t help that he kept trying to blame all his mistakes on me, like two contractors getting sent out for the same job. He tried saying that was my fault for “not communicating” with him, but really it was because he didn’t bother to look at the very last service order that was created. It’s harsh working with so many people who don’t know how to use our software and aren’t even willing to learn how. We could be utilizing that system so differently and making everything so much better and smoother, but instead, we’re just continuing using it as if it’s a brand new program to us… And it’s not.

The Boyfriend just finished up a week-long holiday and went back to work this morning. The holiday was totally needed and I’m glad that his boss practically forced him to take it. While it was mostly a week full of relaxation for him (jealous!), it was nice to have him home that much. It was nice not having him exhausted at the end of the day because of work, but instead because he had stayed up too late the night before or because he didn’t sleep in as much as he had hoped.

It’s his birthday today!! My man’s officially the same age as me for the next nine months. No plans unfortunately for his birthday, though that’s not really new for any of us. We aren’t really the planning type. I might try to go pick him up an ice cream cake later when my Mom brings the older kids home from their sleepover. Nothing goes better with birthdays than ice cream cake 😉

Kaeidyn and Kenzie have both been having pretty tough weeks at school for the last little while. It started with Kaeidyn, constantly complaining of stomach aches and ending up staying home from school or going to the sick room at school through the day. We finally talked about that and ever since she hasn’t missed a day. I still have no idea what was going on there at all, but at least she’s going to school now without a huge fight. Kenzie’s issues only started a few days ago when him and some boys were playing in his class and one of the boys accidentally threw a car at his head. The next day, for the first time ever, he got put in the thinking chair at school and was terribly upset about it. First time ever that he’s walked out of school crying…

The beginning of the year went so great, outside of a few small issues with Kaeidyn’s teacher, but now it seems like it’s a fight everyday to send them to school. I hate when I don’t have control over what’s happening to them in a day and I’m not there to see what’s happening and therefore can’t better help them process their emotions and feelings about things that are happening to them. And I absolutely despise my first reaction when I hear about any issues at school, because at first I feel like I come off blaming them for the problem and being automatically hard on them instead of comforting. I feel like I have to remind myself that I’m their Mom and they are just kids. It makes any issues that are happening without me there that much harder to deal with.

Keirnan and Carter spent a majority of the last week alone together. And honestly, it was such a great idea on my Mom’s part. They are getting along so much better now than they were prior to the last week. I wouldn’t say that they were getting along badly, it was just they always seemed to be in each other’s space. Carter would go to play with a car and suddenly Keirnan would decide he’s playing with it. Keirnan would be sitting quietly doing something and Carter would come up behind him and start climbing all over him. Just normal brotherly stuff, I suppose. But spending that week together without their older siblings around very much at all, really seemed to separate them up a little bit better and now you’ll often find them on opposite ends of the room, doing their own thing.

Other than that, it’s been a pretty quiet week around here. I’ve been working on Lifestyle Bloggers Anonymous, the kids have been watching Netflix or playing video games and The Boyfriend’s been working on The Moham Chronicles (his science fiction/fantasy book) and video games. That’s our week in a nutshell. How was your week?

Author: Valerie Rayne

Valerie Rayne is a wannabe kinkster, blog-a-holic and mom of five ranting about life, love and blogging. She is also the founder of The Erotic Writers Group, a community for #EroticWriters and #EroticReaders to connect, share, learn and inspire.

Leave Your Thoughts...

