The Rantings of a Tortured Mind

Valerie Rayne Rants

Wishing for Writer’s Block

4 Comments


As a writer, do you ever have those days where you know your writing is just plain off? It’s not bad per se, but it’s not good either. You hate every single word that you put down, and you feel like nothing you write is flowing properly. If you were to look back on it in a few days, you wouldn’t even recongize it as your own writing!

Today is being one of those days for me. And it’s always such a huge emotional undertaking for me. It’s never as simple as “Geesh, my writing isn’t that great today…”, it’s more dramatic than that. It’s the frustration of it. At least with writer’s block, you know that it’s writer’s block and eventually it will break, you just have to be patient. But when it’s this, whatever this is, your mind is swelling with ideas, but you just can’t get any of them out in a sensible way.

My mind… Full of post ideas! I have tons of them right now. But the second I start writing about any of these ideas, I just get all pissy about how much I’m not liking my writing. I don’t like that it’s taking me forever to get to a point and I hate when it feels like I’m not saying anything you couldn’t read elsewhere. I find everything to be very rambly or that I come off totally way bitchier than I actually am.

I’d rather be frustrated because I can’t come up with anything, instead of frustrated that I can’t write about what’s on my brain without over-critisizing. More issues of your average writer…

Author: Valerie Rayne

Valerie Rayne is a wannabe kinkster, blog-a-holic and mom of five ranting about life, love and blogging. She is also the founder of The Erotic Writers Group, a community for #EroticWriters and #EroticReaders to connect, share, learn and inspire.

4 thoughts on “Wishing for Writer’s Block

  1. Pingback: Nothing to Write with | The Creative Ghostwriter

  2. Pingback: The Uninspired Chronicles: I Overcame Writer’s Block, and You Can TOO! « The Life and Times of Nathan Badley…

  3. Pingback: “I See Thee Hate the Hand and the Pen, But I Am Stronger” | Jessica Sideways.com

  4. Pingback: Writer Hiatus vs Writer’s Block « Writing = Passion

Leave Your Thoughts...

