The Rantings of a Tortured Mind

Valerie Rayne Rants

Clean Living!

Leave a comment


No one can guilt me into something as much as myself. It took a full day of laziness mixed with minor self-pity, but I finally got some cleaning done. I have been beating myself up over it for a couple days now. Last week sometime, we started cleaning and ended up getting nothing that we had originally set out to do done…

Sure, walls were washed, windows were cleaned, movies were cleaned up and the bookshelf was organized. But the couch wasn’t tidied, the floor was only briefly vacuumed and the TV and stand hadn’t seen a clean cloth. Clothes were still everywhere. Things had been done, but not done in a way that was even slightly satisfactory.

So today, after spending two hours procrastinating waking up, I got up off my butt and the kids and I started to clean. It was very slow going at first and almost nothing was getting done. I felt like I was working really hard and making no progress. I decided it was time to go to the store and get treats for any kids who helped me finish cleaning. It was good to take that mid-way walk and get some fresh air. Gave me a jolt of energy that was a little unexpected.

The walk to the store was the best! Normally when I take all four of the kids to the store, it’s hard to kind of tame them. They get away from me easily because I’m distracted by what I’m there to get. But I guess they really wanted their treats, so Keirnan and Carter went int the tandem stroller and Kaeidyn and Kenzie walked. They walked beside the stroller the entire time, and the only point which they even got talked to in a disciplinary manner is when they asked if they’re treat could be ice cream and I asked if they wanted the sundaes that we like so much, and they all ran over to the freezer and opened it up while I was at the other end of the store getting my pop. Luckily, I was in a good mood, so it hardly phased me.

I came back home and a crazy amount of cleaning got done. I’m only now, now that I’m in pain, noticing how much got done. It’s so clean that I have 9 candles lit right now and none of them are causing a potential fire hazard. It’s beautiful! Every time I get this house clean like this, it reminds me so much of when I very first moved into this house.

I didn’t have very much when we moved in here. We had been living in a hotel for a month and a little bit, so all we really had was clothes and some food. Then I eventually got a couch and my hope chest and a boombox. Then we added a TV and bookshelf and then… you get it. Eventually so much stuff got added. So much so that it’s impossible to keep the house clean. I realize that and it makes me think back to those simpler times, when my daily cleaning took five seconds because there wasn’t much to organize, and now I spend six and a half hours doing nothing but organizing before any actual cleaning can commence.

My mom says that she fears I’m going to turn into a hoarder. My problem isn’t that I have problems getting rid of things. My problem is that I’m too lazy to. Something I seriously gotta figure out a way to overcome. Because this is just getting ridiculous now, and I’m sure that my laziness is contributing a lot to my body pains. But this is not the point…

The point is that my living room is clean, my dishes are almost completely done and I had a good day! Now I plan to enjoy my delicious perogie and stewing meat dinner!

Author: Valerie Rayne

Valerie Rayne is a wannabe kinkster, blog-a-holic and mom of five ranting about life, love and blogging. She is also the founder of The Erotic Writers Group, a community for #EroticWriters and #EroticReaders to connect, share, learn and inspire.

Leave Your Thoughts...

