The Rantings of a Tortured Mind

Valerie Rayne Rants

5 Hours Down…

Leave a comment


Almost five hours later, and my living room looks no cleaner, although it is! We have cleaned the bookshelf, the movie shelf and almost all of the walls, from the smoky beige back to something resembling white. We have gotten rid of all the empty movie cases, put all the random change into a container, re-organized The Boyfriend’s Nascar cars and video game consoles again and completely cleared off the bookshelf and reconfigured the whole thing. It’s getting there, very slowly, but at least it’s getting there!

We still have to clean underneath the chair and in behind the computer desk and I’ve still got to vacuum the floor and unfortunately we didn’t get any laundry done – washed, folded or put away – but there’s still a few hours to go, so maybe we’ll get something done. Plus, I don’t work tomorrow, so if I get any energy at all tomorrow, I’ll have tons to do – and tons for the kids to do.

It was a really good weekend though. My Mom took all the older kids for a couple nights and that was seriously beautiful. I got to catch up on a lot of sleep, The Boyfriend and I got some cuddle time in and I got some stuff done. All in all, it was probably one of my favorite weekends yet. And the best part is, it’s not over yet!

Things have been really good for the most part for the last week or so. I got a bunch of money that I was expecting and it couldn’t have come at a better time. So now we have our phone and internet back, our hot water finally got turned back on (it’s been months without it!), and we were able to get new pots and pans (which I love!) and tomorrow I get to do a stress-free grocery shop, which I also love! Things are slowly coming together and it’s been such a big relief.

The kids are both doing awesome in school. Kaeidyn gets to go to letter grades this year, so I’m excited about that. Her teacher apparently used to partner teach with my old Grade 2 teacher from her school. It was kind of weird. But first parent-teacher conference with her was really great. Kenzie’s teacher is really impressed with him (she was also Kaeidyn’s kindergarten teacher – I like her better now that she’s Kenzie teacher) and thinks that he’s going to accomplish great things in kindergarten and I couldn’t be happier.

At the end of the parent-teacher conference, Kenzie’s teacher asked about the boys and I mentioned Keirnan’s speech issues and she thought it was the perfect time to tell me about their pre-k class at the school. I’ve known about this program for some time and just didn’t think I had time to get Keirnan into it. But then she said that they were still taking students. So now, I’ve gotta take Keirnan down to get a speech assessment. No idea how long that’s going to take or anything like that, but I figure while I’m doing that, I can get anyone who still needs their immunizations (Carter and maybe Keirnan… Not sure…) done.

Work is still the same. Some days it’s better than others, but I’ve definitely decided eventually I’ve gotta start looking for another job. At least I’m getting along really well with our new reception and that makes it easier to go to work every day. I’ve been leaving work early a lot, which isn’t great for pay checks, but I hate just sitting around wasting their money. It’s different when you’re working a slow day at McDonald’s and have nothing to do. At least there’s a chance you could get slammed. My job, not so much!

Well, time to go wrap up leftovers (I know, you’re totally shocked!). What’s been going on in your life these past few weeks?

Author: Valerie Rayne

Valerie Rayne is a wannabe kinkster, blog-a-holic and mom of five ranting about life, love and blogging. She is also the founder of The Erotic Writers Group, a community for #EroticWriters and #EroticReaders to connect, share, learn and inspire.

Leave Your Thoughts...

