The Rantings of a Tortured Mind

Valerie Rayne Rants

Coding Rant

Leave a comment


Okay, so I taught myself HTML when I was 14. I would spend all the time that I got on the computer, teaching myself HTML. I would write it out on paper so that I could see it as a whole, I would print it off and dissect it, I would write it out and then tweak it until it was just right.

It took me quite awhile to learn HTML, but now I think I know HTML pretty darn well. There’s still certain things that I have to jump back and reference (especially anything to do with color codes…), and I wouldn’t ever try to sell my HTML services, because I don’t think it’s that good. But I think I’ve got a really well-defined grasp of the stuff. Enough that I should be able to go over and learn CSS.

Sidenote:
For anyone who is like, “What the hell are you talking about?!?”, HTML and CSS are two types of code that determine how a website or blog look – the most basic description I know.

Hypertext Markup Language (HTML) is a markup language that describes web pages using what are called markup or HTML tags. Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) were created to fill the void that HTML left behind, the design.

HTML was never meant to take on the role of designer, and when they added the design capabilities to HTML 3.2, like font color or link color, it created more problems than it solved. For a one or two page site with very little content on it, changing font sizes or colors wasn’t very hard. But once you got into larger website development, like most of us are used to today, with ever changing content on it, having to go in and manually change those font colors or sizes was time-consuming, often costing people a lot of money, and also adding more size to the page causing it to take longer to load. CSS was created to solve these problems.

My rant is that, I can’t learn CSS. I have been trying for almost ten years and for some reason, I can’t get it to register, I can’t get it to stick. I keep reading in countless coding forums, “Just inspect the element and you should be able to pick it up”. So I spend hours going through multiple websites, inspecting the code and trying to replicate it.

I get all excited because I hop on over to my trusty W3schools website, to take my newly learnt CSS coding for a spin on the Try It! Editor. The worst part is, I can get it to work there. I can screw around with it and play with it and it still works, but the second I leave that site and try it anywhere else, I am more than confused. I can’t even figure out what it is about it that is so darn confusing for me.

I have gone through and tried to learn from just about every single angle. I want to know how to make a horizontal drop-down navigation menu (much like the one I have at the top of this blog), and no matter how hard I try, I can’t seem to figure out how to make it work.

I just hate when people who know CSS are like, “Oh, it’s so easy!”. It frustrates the hell out of me, because I’m like, “If it’s so easy, why can’t I learn it?”. One day, I am going to hunker down and just figure it out. Until them, I’m just going to continue being frustrated that it’s easy for others. ARGH!

Author: Valerie Rayne

Valerie Rayne is a wannabe kinkster, blog-a-holic and mom of five ranting about life, love and blogging. She is also the founder of The Erotic Writers Group, a community for #EroticWriters and #EroticReaders to connect, share, learn and inspire.

Leave Your Thoughts...

