The Rantings of a Tortured Mind

Valerie Rayne Rants

Brain Freeze

2 Comments


I have been having the hardest time this last week with my brain. We’ve been fighting all the time and I swear it’s making me lose a few IQ points. If I could remove it, without any pain, I probably would because I’m starting to get annoyed with it now.

It started with doing a minor re-design of Lifestyle Bloggers Anonymous. That was the thing that made all this happen. I worked my butt off on it for 2 days straight and finally completed it and was all proud of myself for getting so much accomplished.

Of course, when it comes to this blogging life of mine, checking off 2 or 3 things from your to do list, only adds about 2 or 3 more things that eventually need to get done. I’m not good with goals of any kind, seriously! I keep coming up with things that I want to do and how I want to do them, and then it comes time to get them done and I just can’t.

I’ve spent the last 2 days,  mostly just staring at my computer screen. Attempting to loosen up this extreme mental blockage I’ve got going on. I’m having no problem coming up with ideas, pages and pages of ideas, it’s implementing them that has become a problem.

I hate times like this the most for what they do to my creative self-esteem. Most of the time, I consider myself to be a very creative person. Maybe not as creative as some people, but pretty darn creative. But when these mental farts come sneaking up on me, I start doubting how creative I actually am. And that probably gives me the most hassle, that doubt.

I’ve tried a few different things to get me out of the rut that I’m in, but none of it seems to be working. From doodling, which normally does me really good, to going for walks and reading tons of other blogs. But it just doesn’t get my mental juices flowing enough to do more than come up with ideas. Hopefully that will change and hopefully it’ll change soon.

I should start tracking when these mental blockages begin happening, that way I can plan my schedule accordingly. Like if I knew that the 3rd Tuesday of every month was going to be a brain-bunged-up kind of day, then I make where that day I had a post scheduled to go out or something… A back up plan.

So, to anyone else who might read my blog and writes their own blog, what do you do when you’re trying to get over writer’s block? What are some of the things that you have tried to unblock yourself? Do you have a pattern of productivity vs. slacker-ville?

Author: Valerie Rayne

Valerie Rayne is a wannabe kinkster, blog-a-holic and mom of five ranting about life, love and blogging. She is also the founder of The Erotic Writers Group, a community for #EroticWriters and #EroticReaders to connect, share, learn and inspire.

2 thoughts on “Brain Freeze

  1. I’m just a procrastinator…so many assignments still due in so little time and I still can’t get going. It seems when its crunch time, I’ll stay up until 3 or 4 am of the date that it’s due. So far decent marks come if it but just imagine an extra 10 % lol. Nonetheless I don’t have time to blog, per se, so I can just wish you luck! 😀

    • That’s the thing that kind of sucks about blogging too, is that you are the one setting the deadlines, so crunch time can be a really flexible thing. I mean for certain posts, like if you’ve said, “I’ll get it out by Tuesday at Noon” to your whole readership, then yes, you have a deadline. But for basic posts that don’t need to be published on a set date or time, but a general goal of say blogging once a week, it’s hard to stick to that goal.

      I tend to stay up that late almost every night working on blog-related stuff, though a lot of times you can never tell, especially lately with my extreme writer’s block. Thanks for wishing me luck though, I hope things turn around soon. I just posted 800+ Post Ideas for Your Blog, so I’m hoping that will give me the jump start that I need to rid myself of this rut!

Leave Your Thoughts...

