The Rantings of a Tortured Mind

Valerie Rayne Rants

Finally Got a Library Card!

4 Comments


This week, we finally got me a library card. I’ve been talking about it for a long time now, and after much begging and demanding, we finally got one. Needless to say, I’m a little more than happy. It’s been awhile since I had new books to read, and I got a really good selection. So the last few days I’ve almost completely neglected my computer and have devoured my books.

I just finished reading “How Sex Works” by Dr. Shanon Moleam, and I have to say it was a delightful read. Not only did it really make me use my brain, it was plenty informative, I learnt a few things that I didn’t know (especially about evolution) and it only took me a couple days to read it.

We also got movies from the library. So far we’ve watched one of my favorite Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers movies ever, Shall We Dance. Kaeidyn stayed up late to watch it, and kept trying to figure out why it was black and white. She was almost angry and upset about it. It’s been so long since I got to see a Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers movie, that I was completely swept up to it and was made even happier to see The Boyfriend enjoying the movie and even tapping his foot along with the music.

For years, I’ve thought of myself as more of a Warrior than a Trekkie. But after getting season 1 of Star Trek: Voyager from the library, I’ve completely changed my tune. I am, without a doubt, 100% a Trekkie. So far, I’m loving Captain Janeway, and seriously want to be here. The only thing I’m not liking so far is all the time travel, but at the same time it keeps me intrigued.

Other than that, things are going pretty well. Work is good, though incredibly boring. I’m not a fan of jobs where I feel like I’m getting paid to sit around and do nothing. I’d rather have a steady flow of work, not too slow, not too busy. Some days I get that, but for the most part I just feel bored. Oddly enough though, I come home and feel like it was a stressful day at work.

So that’s just a quick update of what’s been going on around here. Nothing too crazy, just the way I like it. I’ve got a couple posts in the works that I’m hoping to have out sometime this week or next, so stay tuned for that. How’s your week going?

Author: Valerie Rayne

Valerie Rayne is a wannabe kinkster, blog-a-holic and mom of five ranting about life, love and blogging. She is also the founder of The Erotic Writers Group, a community for #EroticWriters and #EroticReaders to connect, share, learn and inspire.

4 thoughts on “Finally Got a Library Card!

  1. Being a dancer Kara love old movies like Shall We Dance. She has quite a selection of old musicals on DVD.

    As for Star Trek. I’m a fan. My father got me into it when I was young. However I wasn’t so much a Voyager fan. I think the premise is good but it wasn’t executed the way it should have been. First off all they combine 2 crews, Starfleet and the Maquis into one. However by the 5th episode they’re one big happy family. There should have been a longer adjustment time for them to work together with no issues. If you’ve never seen it watch Stargate Universe and to me that’s how the Voyager crew should have acted. 2 seasons in and the crew of the Destiny still fight and don’t see eye to eye. The other issue was it took them them 2 seasons to get though Kazon space. You have to figure if they were traveling at maximum speed for 2 years they would have left Kazon space much sooner. I felt the show would have worked better in story arcs. Have them spend so many episodes in a certain alien space/galaxy and then move on to the next one.
    Now out of all the spin offs Deep Space Nine was my favorite. They were almost the anti Start Trek. Being it was stationary they always had a great casts of re-accuring characters. You can’t do that on a ship that’s always moving through space. They often did continuing story lines which the other shows never did. You could watch TNG or Voyager in any order. DS9 has to be watched in order form beginning to end. They were at war with an alien race during the last 3 season of the show. Something no other Star Trek has ever done. I could go on and on but it’s just my opinion. I understand in the end everyone has there favorite version of the show. DS9 was mine.

    Love the post and hope you had a great weekend.

    ~Jess XX~

    • Oh my god!! You’re a Trekkie too?!?!? How cool!

      I was never a fan of DS9 though, but that’s probably mostly because I don’t like the actors (no offense to them). I haven’t seen it since I was a kid, but TNG was always my favorite. I had a kid crush on Jean Luc, so sexy!! Voyager is probably only top of my list right now, because I haven’t seen the others since I was a kid. I have a serious love for Kathryn Janeway though, and I want to be here so bad!

      I love old musicals, they are the best! There are so many out there that I haven’t seen though, and that makes me sad. My favorites have always been Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers. I don’t know why, just something about them. They were so creative, and she was so elegant and he was the perfect opposite.

      Thanks and I did have a pretty good weekend. All around life is good. How’s it going for you and Kara?

  2. With DS9 I like how the character grew. When the show first started I thought they were OK, but as it went on I grew to love them. Out of all the spinoffs I felt this show had the most character development. All these characters are in a totally different place by the final season. Also even though I’m not religious I loved the religious aspect they explored with the Bajoran people.

    As for being a Trekkie, yes you could say I’m one. However I consider myself more of a SciFi fan in general. You won’t see me debating Star Wars & Star Trek because I love them both. Besides DS9 some of my other favorite SciFi shows have been Battlestar Galactic, Babylon 5 and currently I’m enjoying Stargate Universe (which sadly has it’s last episode next week). I’m also into the mystical creature aspect of SciFi with shows like Buffy, Angel and current shows like Lost Girl & True Blood. Some like to say they’re not SciFo but I think they fall into that SciFi/Horror genre myself.

    Anyway thanks for commenting back and sharing your thoughts. Me & Kara are doing well. Last final is on Thursday & we graduate in the 16th. Sent you an email with the latest post from the private blog. Stop by the 2 girls one though because we’ve been updating there more. Have a good night.

    ~Jess XX~

  3. Pingback: Janeway, Captain Kathryn « Earthpages.ca

Leave Your Thoughts...

