The Rantings of a Tortured Mind

Valerie Rayne Rants

Cross Your Fingers

Leave a comment


So today ended up being a pretty exciting day, and it’s only 10:30 AM! Let me explain. First, I saw an ad in the paper for a job that I would love to have, so on a whim, I sent off my resume and went for an interview. I’m sure I didn’t get the job as a medical transcriptionist, which only sucks because it’s something he was willing to let the right person do at home, which would be absolutely perfect for me.

I was a little down and out about it, but nothing major. Then, I got a letter in the mail saying that the largest portion of my monthly income is going to be gone in 2 months. Needless to say, I’m panicking about getting a job in time.

But looking for a job is just a hugely depressing thing. Stressful, annoying, irritating, you name the negative emotion, I feel it towards job searching. I’ve really never seriously worked, to be completely honest. Yes, I’ve had jobs, but nothing I was ever serious or dedicated to. Nothing that really gave me any skills or qualifications and most of my jobs were rather short-term.

My first job, McDonald’s at the age of 16, was the only job I ever really loved. I worked with a really amazing team, I got some awesome training and I really felt like I was going somewhere. Then we had to move, so it ended up being a really short-lived job. I didn’t work again until I got pregnant with Kaeidyn.

Two jobs during the course of pregnancy with her, McDonald’s and Western Inventory Services. I know, it’s totally ironic that I’ve worked 2 inventory jobs even though I suck with numbers! McDonald’s the second time really sucked. It was a horrible job, with a horrible team and a horrible environment. WIS was a good job, but the travel was too much for me, and the quitting point was landing myself in the hospital. I didn’t work again until after Kenzie was born.

Working as a Karaoke/Name That Tune Hostess/DJ was an incredible experience. It paid pretty decently too, though not a job to rely on for rent. I would probably still be doing it if it weren’t for the fact that you can’t haul speakers and equipment around with you on the bus! Transportation made the job impossible.

My longest lasting job was when my Mom and Aunt worked at the Red Deer Traveler’s Inn and I got a job there because of that. It was a good job, though not altogether satisfying. I made pretty good money, and it was a nice place to work. But again, none of these jobs really provided me with any significant skills or qualifications. So job searching is really daunting for me with my pathetic job history and lack of skills.

This morning, as I’m searching around on the internet for various jobs, my lack of skills and lack of high school completion, just kept laughing at me. Literally pointing it’s finger and laughing. But then the phone rang…

Finally, all this employment counseling feels like it’s in some way paying off. We’ve been discussing this Work Placement Training program for months now. It’s a generally new program where the government will reimburse employers up to 70% of an un-skilled workers wages, in place of on-the-job training. The counselors keep saying that it’s perfect for me, since I have no discernible skills to speak of. For me, it sounds like an exciting opportunity. Up until today, it seemed like it was never going to happen.

So now, my resume is being forwarded to an employer who is interested in the Work Placement Training program. It sounds like it would be a fun job for the most part, and I’m hoping I’ll at least get an interview. Really, any of the jobs that I’ve applied to in the last couple of days getting back to me for an interview would be nice.

My biggest worry about going back to work is babysitters. If we lived closer to The Boyfriend’s sister, it wouldn’t be a problem. She’s always the first one to offer babysitting. But we don’t live very close to her and I would have to bus it to her place and then to work, with all 3 or 4 of the kids, depending on the day and whether or not there’s school. The only other person I have to babysit is my Mom, but I don’t want to rely on her. She’s got her own life to live, and didn’t sign on to be my perpetual babysitter. Though she’s agreed to do it for the time being if we need.

Ugh… It’s just so much more work than I’m prepared for. But, I gotta do what I gotta do. And even when I feel like I can’t, somehow I always seem to be able to pull that off. Let’s just cross our fingers that I get a good job that I really enjoy and that everything else will just work itself out.

Author: Valerie Rayne

Valerie Rayne is a wannabe kinkster, blog-a-holic and mom of five ranting about life, love and blogging. She is also the founder of The Erotic Writers Group, a community for #EroticWriters and #EroticReaders to connect, share, learn and inspire.

Leave Your Thoughts...

