The Rantings of a Tortured Mind

Valerie Rayne Rants

It’s that time of year again…

Leave a comment


I am so sick and it so totally sucks. The worst part is, I look as sick as I feel and that just sucks even more. Hopefully I’ll be able to take a bath tonight and wash some of this sick feeling down the drain.

I’ve gotten nothing but dishes done over the last few days. We did finally clean under the couch cushions, a job that was way overdue. But it only took a few minutes, a quick sweep and vacuum under the cushions and now it’s all clean and pretty. The dishes though… Holy  moly!

My mother decided to clean my storage room awhile back and she found a box of dishes and we all assumed it was hers from when she stayed here a long time ago. Then we opened the box, and discovered sets of dishes that I had bought when Kaeidyn when was probably just over a year old. So, we added a bunch of those dishes to our cupboards. Imagine my excitement when we found plastic plates for all the kids and bowls enough for everyone. Living on two bowls and one plastic plate with four kids, incredibly difficult.

I’ve learnt now though that adding those dishes to my other dishes, not such a good idea. Every night I’m doing a minimum of two loads and there’s normally still two loads left to do. And it’s not like every dish is getting used, but it sure feels like it. I want to move into a new house where I can better organize all my stuff so that I don’t feel like I’m cleaning the same things over and over and over again. Because it’s exhausting and defeating.

We also finally got laundry detergent, which is good because the ten or twelve bags of laundry, plus the few baskets I have, could really use a washing. It’s amazing how much you miss laundry detergent when you have none. The kids are going to their Dad’s this weekend, so I’m hoping we’ll at least get the kitchen and living room completely cleaned while they’re gone.

Don’t know if I mentioned this yet or not, but the boys also got bunk beds. They are really pretty. Just plain pine, but it’s perfect for them. Kenzie sleeps on the top bunk and Keirnan sleeps on the bottom. Though haven’t stayed in them for a full night yet, but I’m hoping that’ll change tonight when we put sheets on them. It’s nice that all the kids finally have their own beds and don’t have to share a little dinky mattress together. Now if only, I could get them to stop crawling into bed with me every morning.

Kaeidyn has had a major attitude problem these last few days. She wakes up in the morning and she’s grumpy. This morning she was grumpy because I grabbed her a pair of pants and she insisted she looked dumb. So she wanted to wear a pair of pants that are way too short on her and tank top. I told her she would look dumb if she went out in the middle of winter dressed like it was summer. Then I tried to tell her how much I loved the pants on her, because I really did. And how I wouldn’t send her out of the house looking dumb. But she pouted and whined the entire time.

She came home from school yesterday just out of control with her attitude and by the time The Boyfriend got here from work, she got sent downstairs for her horrible attitude and the crying and pouting. And I fear that today is going to be much the same. It took her all night to finally tell The Boyfriend that she was so grumpy because her friends won’t play with her at school. Apparently, her “boyfriend” broke up with her too, though this was awhile back. She of course, won’t talk to me about any of this, no matter how hard I try. I’m letting her have her space and not pushing her right now, and we’ll see where that takes us. I’m not looking forward to teenagehood with that one though…

Carter has probably been hit worst by this cold. His poor little voice keeps squeaking and for a few nights, he was up almost all night. It’s better now that we’ve got tylenol that he likes. But he’s still got the super runny nose and we’ve been putting rub on his chest to try to loosen up all of his phlegm. Hopefully we’re all over it soon though, because too much longer of this and I think I’m just going to collapse. It’ll be Carter and I collapsed!

I’ve also made another decision about some things, and that is that I shouldn’t browse the internet anymore. Because then I start devaluing everything I do on the internet, and then I just get super discouraged and spend a good week or so not doing anything on the internet except playing games. And I hate that. So, I haven’t gotten anything done this week online. I haven’t started FetLife Fridays, I haven’t made any new products like I was supposed to, I’ve barely been writing at all, and I’ve been avoiding my computer like it was the plague. Hopefully that will be over soon…

Tomorrow, we have Kaeidyn’s Christmas concert to go to. So that should be fun and then the next day we’ve got a sing-a-long at the school and that night, the older three will be off to Fort Saskatchewan (assuming this snowfall warning doesn’t ruin it all!). Hopefully I’ll get a bunch of sleep this weekend and by Monday I’ll be all better and ready to get stuff done!

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays everyone. Anyone got special plans?

Author: Valerie Rayne

Valerie Rayne is a wannabe kinkster, blog-a-holic and mom of five ranting about life, love and blogging. She is also the founder of The Erotic Writers Group, a community for #EroticWriters and #EroticReaders to connect, share, learn and inspire.

Leave Your Thoughts...

